Share this story

R Star receives gift from Soroptimist Laguna Beach, now for the fifth year

Soroptimist International of Laguna Beach invited Rosalind Russell, founder of R Star Foundation, to dinner at Kitchen in the Canyon where she was presented with a check for $1,000 from the group.

“It is a major impact for R Star to continue our effective and continuing programs,” Russell said.

Russell departs on December 6 for Nepal’s rural villages, where she will stay through January 20, to oversee the many programs offered in the 51 villages otherwise neglected because of difficult access. She will re-access the real time needs, contact the Federal level of the Agricultural/Livestock Ministries, and continue working with the local Rotary Clubs in Kathmandu to oversee R Star’s work by adding wells and sanitation stations and much more. 

R Star receives gift

Click on photo for a larger image 

Photo by Melinda Kartsonis

Rosalind Russell, founder of R Star Foundation, receives a check from President Elect, Michaela Jeppson of Soroptimist International of Laguna Beach

Russell states the trip is arduous, with 30 hours of flying and living rural style. But it is well worth it beyond all discomforts, she says, because of the measurable results of the foundation’s work these past 16 years. 

Russell says the danger has increased with the Nepalese government being communist run since the election, which can result in her being interrogated, hopefully not at gunpoint as in the past. 

Anyone interested in assisting the successful work of R Star in one of the poorest countries in the world is invited to contact Russell at (949) 497-4911,, or PO Box 4183, Laguna Beach, CA 92652 to learn more about volunteering or donating. R Star Foundation is a 501(c)3 organization, so gifts are all tax deductible.

Shaena Stabler, President & CEO -

Lana Johnson, Editor -

Tom Johnson, Publisher -

Dianne Russell is our Associate Editor.

Michael Sterling is our Webmaster & Designer.

Mary Hurlbut and Scott Brashier are our photographers.

Alexis Amaradio, Dennis McTighe, Marrie Stone, Sara Hall, Suzie Harrison and Theresa Keegan are our writers and/or columnists.

In Memoriam - Stu Saffer and Barbara Diamond.

Email: with news releases, letters, etc.


Email: for questions about advertising


*The content and ads in this publication do not necessarily reflect the opinions or views of the publisher.

© 2023 2S Publishing, LLC - All Rights Reserved.